Theme and Topics
Important Dates
Keynote Speakers
Papers Submission
Our Events

News: The submission deadline has been extended to August 1th, 2014.

  • Aharon Abadi has been a research staff member at IBM Research – Haifa since 2007. He works on a wide range of topics, including static program analysis, refactoring, program transformations, automatic code fix, semantic search, and software verification. His work has been included in IBM products and was awarded the IBM Research Division award (RDA) and the IBM Outstanding Innovation Award (OIA). He is the main author of more than 15 patents and is completing his PhD the blavatnik school of computer science at Tel-Aviv University on the topics of program analysis, refactoring, and program transformations.Aharon's publications relate to computer science and software engineering. His recent work on fine slicing and computation-extraction received the European Association of Software Science and Technology (EASST) Award as Best Software Science paper presented at the European Joint Conferences on Theory and Practice of Software ETAPS 2012.Aharon recently joined the Mobile Research group at IBM, where he focuses on research in mobile software engineering, mobile development tools, and static analysis for mobile applications. He is the main organizer and the PC chair of the DeMobile 2013 workshop at FSE and MobileDeLi 2013 workshop at SPLASH. He established new ACM sponsored mobile conference MOBILESoft 2014. The new conference will be co-located with ICSE 2014. Aharon is one of the leaders of the steering-committee and he is the program chair of MOBILESoft 2014.

  • Danny Dig is an assistant professor of Computer Science in the School of EECS at Oregon State University. He enjoys doing research in Software Engineering in general and interactive program transformations in particular. His research goal is to enable programmers to interactively and safely change large programs. He earned his PhD from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign where his research won the best PhD dissertation award, and the First Prize at the ACM Student Research Competition Grand Finals. He did a postdoc at MIT where he opened the area of interactive transformations for parallelism, then he returned to Illinois as a research professor. He (co)-authored 35+ journal and conference papers that appeared in top places in SE/PL. According to Google Scholar his publications have been cited 1,400+ times. He released 9 software systems, among them the world's first open-source refactoring tool, downloaded over 17,000 times. Some of the techniques he developed are shipping with the official release of the popular Eclipse and NetBeans development environments, and are used by millions of Java programmers everyday. He has started two popular workshops: Workshop on Refactoring Tools, and Hot Topics On Software Upgrades. Both are now in their fifth year and have been held several times at SPLASH. He chaired or co-organized 11 workshops, and served as a member of 28 program or review committees for all top conferences in his area. His research is funded by NSF, Boeing, IBM, Intel, and Microsoft.

  • Eli Tilevich is an Associate Professor in the Dept. of Computer Science at Virginia Tech. Tilevich's research interests lie on the Systems end of Software Engineering, with a particular emphasis on distributed systems, mobile applications, middleware, software energy efficiency, automated program transformation, and CS education. He has published over 50 refereed research papers on these subjects. His research awards include a Microsoft Research Software Engineering Innovation Foundation Award and an IBM Faculty Award. Tilevich has earned a B.A. summa cum laude in Computer Science/Math from Pace University, an M.S. in Information Systems from NYU, and a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Georgia Tech. At Virginia Tech, Tilevich leads the Software Innovations Lab. The lab's research projects have been supported by NSF, ONR, AFOSR, and private industry.

Program Committee

  • Niranjan Tulpule, Google Inc.
  • Luigi Pomante, University of L'Aquila
  • Leonardo Mostarda, Middlesex University
  • Bram Adams, MCIS, École Polytechnique de Montréal
  • Anthony Wasserman, Carnegie Mellon Silicon Valley
  • Shah Rukh Humayoun, University of Kaiserslautern
  • Judith Bishop, Microsoft Research
  • Emad Shihab, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Shahar Maoz, Tel-Aviv University
  • Young-Woo Kwon, Virginia Tech
  • Shmuel Tyszberowicz, Academic College Tel Aviv Yaffo
  • Farrahi, Idiap
  • Grace Lewis, Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute
  • Ashwin Baliga, Google
  • Ran Ettinger, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  • Omer Tripp, IBM
  • Vinayak Naik, IIIT – Delhi
  • William G.J. Halfond, The University of Southern California
  • Iulian Neamtiu, University of California, Riverside
  • Komminist Weldemariam, Queen's University


Email: aharona at il dot ibm dot com.